You need to be 21 years old or older! To use or possess recreational cannabis in Illinois, the user must be 21 years or older. And, they must show valid identification. Now, if you would like to use marijuana for medical reasons, then you must be a minimum of 18 years old and you would need to show a valid ID.
The magic numbers: 30 grams, 5 grams, 500 mg! One of the most Illinois cannabis laws involves how much marijuana users can possess at a single time. Whether marijuana is for recreational or medical use, the magic numbers are as follows: 30 grams of flowers, 5 grams of concentrate, and cannabis products that contain no more than 500 mg of THC!
Don’t even think of smoking marijuana in public places. Unlike the state of California, where users can smoke marijuana in designated areas, in the state of Illinois it is unlawful to smoke and use marijuana in public spaces. Public spaces include parks, on the street, and even areas designated for cigarette smokers.
It’s still illegal to sell marijuana to another user. Although recreational marijuana is legal in Illinois. It is unlawful for users to grow and sell their cannabis to other intending users.
Your employer has the right to say NO! It is important to remember that weed has only just been legalized in Illinois. Creating and establishing new laws and regulations on its use is still in progress. With that said, an employer has the right to maintain a drug-free status in their workplace. So, your employer can reject or fire you if you choose to smoke weed in the workplace.
Don’t drive while high. Just like drinking and driving, you are not allowed to smoke and drive.
Illinois Marijuana Laws: Here’s What you Need to Know!
For decades, the citizens of Illinois have been in a back-and-forth battle when it came to legalizing all forms of cannabis. Finally, in June of 2019 governor, J.B. Pritzker signed a bill that legalized the use and retail of recreational cannabis. Cannabis enthusiasts can rejoice, as on January 1st, 2020 the law that legalized the use of recreational use of marijuana came into action.
How Many Cannabis Plants Can You Have In Illinois
You can cultivate your own marijuana at home. You can only cultivate 5 plants that are no more than 5 inches.
Illinois Recreational Marijuana: How Marijuana Legalization Illinois Affects You
Since marijuana legalization Illinois has occurred, the state has formed what is known as the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. The Cannabis Regulation Taxation Act was signed by the governor of Illinois in 2019. By signing this act, the citizens of Illinois will be able to enjoy the recreational use of marijuana.
House Bill 1438 ensures that recreational marijuana can be sold and used by a person above the age of 21 years of age. Under this bill, a person above 21 years of age is allowed to use and possess marijuana. However, marijuana cannot be cultivated for recreational use unless the person requires it for medical use.
If you would like to purchase marijuana for recreational use, then you can only do so through a state-licensed dispensary. In the state of Illinois, there are around 55 marijuana dispensaries in Illinois. These dispensaries were initially used by medical marijuana patients, however, since the legalization of cannabis, recreational users can purchase cannabis through here.
Illinois Recreational Cannabis: What you Can and Can’t Do
Keeping the Illinois marijuana laws simple, we have created a brief list of what you can and can’t do if you choose to make use of Illinois recreational cannabis.
The Can Do’s: The Illinois Recreational Cannabis Legalization means….
If you fail a drug test then your employer can take the necessary disciplinary measures against the employee, including termination of employment.
Only approved medical patients can have cannabis on primary or secondary school grounds
Illinois Recreational Weed What you Can’t Do
You cannot sell any home-grown weed to other potential users
You cannot fight against your employer. In the state of Illinois, an employer can adopt policies that ensure a drug-free workplace
If you are not from the state of Illinois, then you cannot possess marijuana plants.
Illinois Marijuana Legalization: Regulations for Medical Use
Initially, the state of Illinois ran a “pilot program” whereby citizens of Illinois were permitted to use cannabis for medical reasons. The pilot program for medical cannabis began in 2014, and progressively over the next few years, various acts and regulations were enacted. As we have mentioned earlier, in the state of Illinois, users must be over the age of 21 to use recreational cannabis. However, citizens, younger than 21 years of age, who wish to use cannabis for medical reasons can do so with validation from a licensed mental health physician.
How Coronavirus 2020 Affects the Illinois Marijuana Laws
As many of you already know, the COVID-19 pandemic has affected a lot of countries. As a result, a lot of companies across the state of Chicago are experiencing a financial loss. However, with that being said the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation is implementing new Illinois recreational cannabis laws.
The new Illinois marijuana laws for recreational and medical cannabis are as follows:
Dispensaries should only provide medical cannabis for patients in need.
For now, dispensaries should suspend sales to recreational users.
Illinois Weed for Medical Use: Qualifying for the Medical Cannabis Patient Program
According to the Illinois Department of Public Health to be eligible for the use of medical marijuana a patient must:
Be a minimum of 18 years of age. If the patient is younger than 18 years of age then they must apply for a cannabis registration card.
All patients interested in receiving medical marijuana must be citizens of Illinois and must present a certificate, signed by their physician, indicating their need for medical marijuana.
The state of Illinois does have an extensive list of illnesses and diseases considered debilitating. Some of these illnesses include autism, anorexia, chronic pain, glaucoma, etc. If you present with any illness that has been listed on their website, then you will be considered a qualifying patient.
Illinois Legalization of Marijuana: The Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act
There are many Illinois marijuana laws citizens need to be aware of. One of the most important Illinois weed laws is the Cannabis Regulation and Tax Act. Now, these Illinois weed laws can be fairly in-depth and complex, not to mention a little tedious to read. So, we are going to summarize a few main points established by this Illinois marijuana law.
Using and possessing marijuana: A person who is a resident/citizen of the state of Illinois can possess up to 30 grams of cannabis. Now, if you are not a resident of the state of Illinois, then you are legally only allowed to possess 15 grams of cannabis (raw). Unlike a resident, non-residents cannot own cannabis plants.
Dispensaries are heavily regulated: Government dispensaries, by law, are to operate between 6:00am and 10:00 pm, all government operations are not to sell any form of alcohol or alcohol-based products from their operation (with the exception of tinctures).
Before they dispensary gives you your cannabis! They need to verify your age by examining a government-issued identification card.
Don’t get a DUI: These Illinois marijuana laws dictate that if a person were to have 5 nanograms or more of THC in their blood then a police officer has the right to create a presumption that the driver is under the influence.
Because of Illinois’ recreational cannabis, a special task force has been created. The state of Illinois takes driving while high very seriously. Thus the Cannabis Regulation and Tax act created the DUI Cannabis Task Force. This task force ensures and determines the best practices and procedures needed to keep cannabis off the roads.
Illinois Legal Weed: The Tax Facts You Need to Know about the Illinois Marijuana Legalization.
Marijuana legalization Illinois has led to the rise and addition of various tax rates.
Illinois marijuana legalization and the Cannabis Cultivation Privilege Tax: The cultivation tax in the state of Illinois is 7%, it is collected by the Illinois Department of Revenue. However, by July 2020, this tax will be repealed for those who cultivate medical cannabis.
Illinois marijuana laws! All about the excise tax: The Cannabis Purchaser Excise tax, is essentially state-level tax users are required to pay. The tax rate will depend on the product you purchase and the concentration of THC present. For instance, cannabis flowers or products that contain less than 35% THC will be taxed at 10%. Products infused with cannabis, think edibles, will be taxed at 20%. Finally, if you purchase cannabis products that have a THC concentration of over 35% then the tax rate will be 25%.
The Illinois recreational cannabis sales tax: This general sales tax is around 6.25%, it is a state-level tax that is applied to all cannabis products purchased through retailers.
Summarizing A Look at the Illinois Marijuana Bill andWhat Laws Protect You
Since Illinois legalizes weed, the Illinois marijuana laws consist of various acts and bills which protect both recreational users and medical users. Although Illinois legalizes weed, we must remember that the laws which protect us are subject to change over the course of the year. That being said, before you choose to purchase some cannabis in Illinois, it is important to familiarize yourself with the basic Illinois marijuana law.